Our Doors are Closed, but We're Still Open! 

We will have a staff member in the shop 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. Monday-Friday answering phones and processing web orders. We will no longer have curbside pickup, but all purchases will be shipped to your home. 

Saving Winslow Cover Image
Email or call for price and availability
Special Order

Fall 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Louie loves animals, but just doesn't seem to have the knack for taking care of them — too many carnival animals have not survived his loving care. So when his father brings home a newborn miniature donkey, Louie's parents tell him not to get his hopes up that the little guy will survive the night, let alone thrive. Louie's determination that Winslow will be okay, the new friendships he makes, and his belief that one person can make a difference makes for a wonderful story.”
— Debbie Buck, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

Description


"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781982554415
ISBN-10: 198255441X
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Language: English

Maria's Bookshop

960 Main Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
970-247-1438
email

OPEN EVERY DAY 9AM – 9PM

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List: Bookseller recommendations from across the country

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.