Shadow Ridge: A Jo Wyatt Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
8 on hand, as of Oct 24 2:45am
(NEW RELEASE FICTION)

Description


Death is one click away when a string of murders rocks a small Colorado town in the first mesmerizing novel in M. E. Browning's A Jo Wyatt Mystery series.

Echo Valley, Colorado, is a place where the natural beauty of a stunning river valley meets a budding hipster urbanity. But when an internet stalker is revealed to be a cold-blooded killer in real life the peaceful community is rocked to its core.

It should have been an open-and-shut case: the suicide of Tye Horton, the designer of a cutting-edge video game. But Detective Jo Wyatt is immediately suspicious of Quinn Kirkwood, who reported the death. When Quinn reveals an internet stalker is terrorizing her, Jo is skeptical. Doubts aside, she delves into the claim and uncovers a link that ties Quinn to a small group of beta-testers who had worked with Horton. When a second member of the group dies in a car accident, Jo's investigation leads her to the father of a young man who had killed himself a year earlier. But there's more to this case than a suicide, and as Jo unearths the layers, a more sinister pattern begins to emerge--one driven by desperation, shame, and a single-minded drive for revenge.

As Jo closes in, she edges ever closer to the shattering truth--and a deadly showdown that will put her to the ultimate test.

About the Author


Retired police captain M.E. Browning writes the Jo Wyatt Mysteries and the Agatha-nominated Mer Cavallo Mysteries (as Micki Browning) in addition to short stories and nonfiction. Her work has appeared in dive magazines, anthologies, mystery magazines, and textbooks. She lives in South Florida with her husband and a vast array of scuba equipment she uses for "research."

Praise For…


Praise for Shadow Ridge:
“Excellent...A must-read.”
Booklist, starred review

“Convincing action and vivid characters...Police procedural fans will look forward to seeing more of tough, smart Jo.”
Publishers Weekly

“Retired police captain Browning...is best on Jo’s professional frustration with a department that values her labors as long as she doesn’t step out of line.”
Kirkus Reviews

“An energetic police procedural and an appealing heroine set against a vivid Colorado background.”
South Florida Sun Sentinel

"An engaging premise, briskly paced through a labyrinth of mystery. There’s something to be said for good ole’ fashioned suspense. Enjoy this one."
—Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of the Cotton Malone series

"An impressive debut. M. E. Browning has created a real page turner, and a compelling series character with Jo Wyatt." 
—Chris Mooney, bestselling author of the Darby McCormick series

“A first-rate mystery! M.E. Browning paints a convincing portrait of Detective Jo Wyatt, a second generation cop in an uphill battle for the truth. Compelling and fast-paced, Shadow Ridge will leave you wanting more.” 
—Bruce Robert Coffin, bestselling author of the award-winning Detective Byron Mysteries

"Such a terrific book...Fans of Sue Grafton and Julia Spencer-Fleming will find a new favorite series."
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today bestselling author of The First to Lie
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643855356
ISBN-10: 1643855352
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 296

Maria's Bookshop

960 Main Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
970-247-1438
email

OPEN EVERY DAY 9AM – 9PM

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List: Bookseller recommendations from across the country

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.