A Girl's Guide to Love & Magic Cover Image
$18.99
Unavailable
Not Yet Published

Description


Perfect for fans of The Sun Is Also a Star and Blackout, this YA novel from Debbie Rigaud is a celebration of Haitian and Caribbean culture, and a story of first love, vodou, and finding yourself, all set against the backdrop of the West Indian Day Parade in Brooklyn.

Cicely Destin, a Haitian American teen living in Brooklyn, loves the annual West Indian Day Parade that takes place in her neighborhood. The colors, clothes, tastes, sights, and sounds all celebrating Caribbean culture fill her with pride and joy. This year, the parade will be extra special: it falls on Cicely's birthday, AND Cicely will get to hang out with her awesome aunt, Mimose, a social media influencer known for dabbling in Haitian vodou. But when Mimose's dabbling becomes a little too real, and she seems to be possessed by a rogue spirit right before the parade, it's up to Cicely, plus her best friend, Renee, and her crush (!), Kwame, to try to set things right. Cicely and her friends set off on a winding, thrilling scavenger hunt through Brooklyn to find the items that will undo the possession. But can Cicely help her aunt if she doesn't fully realize her own powers just yet?

This nuanced, joyful, and loving exploration of Haitian American culture, based on Debbie Rigaud's own experiences growing up, is pure magic.

About the Author


Debbie Rigaud is the coauthor of Alyssa Milano's New York Times bestselling Hope series and the author of Simone Breaks All the Rules and Truly Madly Royally. She grew up in East Orange, New Jersey, and started her career writing for entertainment and teen magazines. She now lives with her husband and children in Columbus, Ohio. Find out more at debbierigaud.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Simone Breaks All the Rules:

"Simone is a wonderfully crafted character, and Rigaud uses the awkwardness of the late bloomers' attempts to be cool with perfect comedic timing. This is a great depiction of Haitian American culture that both affirms and informs. Offering a steady mix of romance and humor, this is a home run." -- Kirkus Reviews

"We need more rom-coms like this! Hilarious and relatable, with a romance that will make you swoon, and a twist that I did not see coming." -- Tami Charles, New York Times bestselling author of All Because You Matter and Muted

"Simone is the friend we wished we had growing up -- to laugh with, cry with, sneak out the house with, and see ourselves in. Simone Breaks All the Rules strolls boldly into your heart and stays there long after the final page." -- Maika and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine and One of the Good Ones

"As specifically Haitian and universally relatable as it gets. Simone is an instant star. Her heartbreaks are as heartwarming and cheer-worthy as her victories." -- Ben Philippe, award-winning author of Charming as a Verb

"Crackles with realism, humor, and affection... Fans of Jenny Han and Brandy Colbert will find much to cheer about in this entertaining and charming novel." -- School Library Journal

"Rigaud infuses a delightfully funny narrative with a diaspora-specific lesson -- Simone learning to value the sacrifices of her immigrant parents -- within a universally relatable tale of seeking oneself and independence amid warm relationships with family, friends, and community." -- Publishers Weekly

"Crackles with realism, humor, and affection... Fans of Jenny Han and Brandy Colbert will find much to cheer about in this entertaining and charming novel." -- School Library Journal

"Rigaud infuses a delightfully funny narrative with a diaspora-specific lesson -- Simone learning to value the sacrifices of her immigrant parents -- within a universally relatable tale of seeking oneself and independence amid warm relationships with family, friends, and community." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for Truly Madly Royally:

A Junior Library Guild Selection

"The Princess Diaries meets Meghan and Harry in this swoony rom-com!" -- In Touch Magazine

"Readers will root for smart, talented Zora as she navigates the world of the rich; her voice is humorous, and her imperfect family is believable. A light and entertaining tale that also addresses serious real-world topics." -- Kirkus Reviews

"If you want a royal romance you can tackle in an afternoon at the pool while rooting for a heroine who may be way out of even a prince's league, pick this one up." -- Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338681741
ISBN-10: 1338681745
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: July 26th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English

Maria's Bookshop

960 Main Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
970-247-1438
email

OPEN EVERY DAY 9AM – 9PM

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List: Bookseller recommendations from across the country

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.