King of the Ice #1 (Miles Lewis #1) By Kelly Starling Lyons, Wayne Spencer (Illustrator) Cover Image
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 28 4:33am
(CHILDREN FICTION)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Miles Lewis series.

Description


From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans!

Miles Lewis loves science and sports. But when his teacher announces a class field trip to an ice skating rink to learn about physics, he isn't so excited. He's never ice skated before, and his friend RJ won't let him forget it. RJ even challenges him to a bet: If Miles skates without falling, RJ will put a “Miles is the man” sign on his backpack. But if Miles falls, he has to put one on his that says the same about RJ. Miles can barely focus on the bet, though, because he suspects his beloved Nana has plans to move out of his family's house—and that's just too much to bear. Can he keep his cool with all the pressure from RJ while finding a way to make his grandma stay?

About the Author


Kelly Starling Lyons (she/her) is the award-winning author of the Jada Jones and Ty's Travels series and picture books including Sing a Song: How "Lift Every Voice & Sing" Inspired Generations and Hope's Gift. She lives in North Carolina. Find out more at www.kellystarlinglyons.com

Wayne C. Spencer (he/him) is a cartoonist, illustrator, and dinosaur enthusiast. He graduated from the Savannah College of Art and Design, where he nurtured an abiding compulsion to draw characters, and tell stories about them. Originally from North Carolina, he currently lives in Florida with two powerful daughters, and a mighty wife.

Praise For…


"A thoughtful protagonist makes his series debut; sports lovers and the athletic-averse alike will be charmed." —Kirkus

"Ideal for growing independent readers, this is highly recommended for fans of “Jada Jones” or Kara West’s “Mia ­Mayhem” series." —School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593383490
ISBN-10: 0593383494
Publisher: Penguin Workshop
Publication Date: July 19th, 2022
Pages: 96
Language: English
Series: Miles Lewis

Maria's Bookshop

960 Main Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
970-247-1438
email
OPEN EVERY DAY
9AM - 9PM
 
 

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List: Bookseller recommendations from across the country

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.