The Walk On (The Triple Threat, 1) Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Triple Threat series.

Description


Bestselling sportswriter John Feinstein kicks off a new series for middle grade featuring Alex Myers, a student athlete who tries to take on the sports establishment in his new town.
 
Alex Myers is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it’s clear that that position is very much filled by the coach’s son, Matt.
 
Alex has the better arm, but Matt has more experience—and the coach’s loyalty. Alex finally gets a chance to show what he can do when Matt is injured, and he helps win a key game to keep the Lions’ bid for the state championship alive. But just when his star is rising, Alex gets blindsided—the state has started drug testing, and Alex’s test comes back positive for steroids. Alex knows that’s not right. But he doesn’t know if it’s a mistake—or if someone wants to make sure he can’t play. . . .
 
John Feinstein has been praised as “the best writer of sports books in America today” (The Boston Globe), and this first installment in the Triple Threat series is his most thrilling and suspenseful novel yet. Fans of Mike Lupica, Tim Green, and Paul Volponi will want to check out The Walk On, and its companion, The Sixth Man.
 
“A cliffhanger of a football novel bristling with social, personal, familial and ethical issues to complement the gridiron action. . . . All the goods for the sports enthusiast—and more.” —Kirkus Reviews

About the Author


JOHN FEINSTEIN is the author of many bestselling books, including A Season on the Brink and A Good Walk Spoiled. His books for young readers offer a winning combination of sports, action, and intrigue, with Last Shot receiving the Edgar Allan Poe Award for best young adult mystery of the year. He lives in Potomac, Maryland, and on Shelter Island, New York, with his family.

Praise For…


Kirkus review, August 2014:
"A cliffhanger of a football novel bristling with social, personal, familial and ethical issues to complement the gridiron action.... All the goods for the sports enthusiast—and more."

Publishers Weekly review, August 2014:

"[With] lots of play-by-play action, sensational plot developments, and an attractive, whip-smart, sports-crazy romantic interest . . . Feinstein skillfully captures the mania that surrounds high school football."

VOYA review, October 2014:
"The action is lively and well paced, with increasing tension as the team advances to single-elimination play-off games."

Product Details
ISBN: 9780385753494
ISBN-10: 0385753497
Publisher: Yearling
Publication Date: September 8th, 2015
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: The Triple Threat

Maria's Bookshop

960 Main Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
970-247-1438
email

OPEN EVERY DAY 9AM – 9PM

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List: Bookseller recommendations from across the country

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.