Every Missing Piece Cover Image
$7.99
Unavailable
Not Yet Published

Description


A stunning voice-driven novel about grief, family, and putting the pieces back together for "fans of Rebecca Stead and Erin Entrada Kelly" (BCCB) and "readers who enjoyed The Thing About Jellyfish (Booklist).
Maddy Gaines sees danger everywhere she looks: at the bus stop, around the roller rink, in the woods, and (especially) by the ocean. When Maddy meets a mysterious boy setting booby traps in the North Carolina woods, she suspects is Billy Holcomb--the boy who went missing in the fall.
As Maddy tries to uncover the truth about Billy Holcomb, ghosts from her own past surface, her best friend starts to slip away, and Maddy's world tilts once again. Can she put the pieces of her life back together, even if some of them are lost forever?

About the Author


Melanie Conklin is the author of Counting Thyme and Every Missing Piece. Melanie grew up in North Carolina and worked as a product designer before she began her writing career. When she's not writing, Melanie spends her time doodling and dreaming up new ways to be creative. She lives in New Jersey with her family.

Praise For…


Praise for Every Missing Piece:
"Conklin's well-paced narrative nimbly incorporates Maddy's ever-present fear and lingering grief into a nuanced tale of a tween discovering that things aren't always what they seem."—Publishers Weekly

"Conklin's fine Southern storytelling, complete with Cheerwine, homemade pies, and pig pickin's, blends these nuanced realities with care."—Kirkus

"Fans of Rebecca Stead and Erin Entrada Kelly will appreciate the author's compassion for kids navigating the dynamics of an uncertain world."—BCCB

"In this heartfelt story about a family struggling through adjustments big and small, Maddy's efforts to make sense of the changes in her life will inspire young readers."—School Library Journal

"Conklin's strength as a writer keeps this story hopeful, even lighthearted and funny at times. Readers who enjoyed The Thing about Jellyfish will find this enjoyable too."—Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316294072
ISBN-10: 0316294071
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 5th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English

Maria's Bookshop

960 Main Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
970-247-1438
email

OPEN EVERY DAY 9AM – 9PM

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List: Bookseller recommendations from across the country

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.