Lou: A Children's Picture Book About a Fire Hydrant and Unlikely Neighborhood Hero By Breanna Carzoo, Breanna Carzoo (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Breanna Carzoo, Breanna Carzoo (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 28 4:33am
(PICTURE BK HC)

Description


Don’t miss this humorous and heartwarming picture book by debut creator Breanna Carzoo about an unlikely everyday hero: a fire hydrant! Perfect for fans of The Good Egg and The Bad Seed.

Meet Lou. Lou has an important job . . . as the neighborhood toilet for dogs on their walks.

Useful as he may be, he gets the feeling that deep down inside, there might be more to him than that. He just doesn’t seem to know exactly what yet. When disaster strikes, will Lou find out what he’s made of and save the day?

From debut creator Breanna Carzoo comes a charming and funny story that reminds us to never let anyone—including yourself—hold you back from sharing your gifts with the world.

Kids will fall in love with Lou and his journey of self-discovery as he saves the day from a fire that breaks out in an apartment building nearby. You’ll never be able to look at a fire hydrant the same way again!

About the Author


Breanna Carzoo is an author, illustrator, and second-place winner of a fire-safety poster contest in the fifth grade. She lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband and dog. Visit Breanna at www.breannacarzoo.com.



Breanna Carzoo is an author, illustrator, and second-place winner of a fire-safety poster contest in the fifth grade. She lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband and dog. Visit Breanna at www.breannacarzoo.com.

Praise For…


Carzoo uses direct, heartfelt prose and toylike images to infuse a quotidian object with winning personality and genuine poignancy—it won’t be a stretch for readers to identify with this small, put-upon character who discovers a bigger sense of purpose. — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A truly exceptional read. Children, librarians, educators, and caregivers will love returning to this book over and over. Gee whiz, this book is No. 1! — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Carzoo’s hilarious debut marries a clever conceit with irresistible character design (an object with big eyes and little mouth) to charm readers and impart a nice story of self-discovery. Sharp cut-paper collage brings Lou’s street to life, with a variety of pups in amusing poses and bright colors set off by white backdrops. Great fun, sure to make a splash at story time. — Booklist

Beyond the obvious and sweet message that everyone contains more potential for greatness than meets the eye, viewers may think twice about life-saving infrastructure that blends into the sidelines when out on a walk with their pups.  — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063054059
ISBN-10: 0063054051
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 12th, 2022
Pages: 32
Language: English

Maria's Bookshop

960 Main Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
970-247-1438
email
OPEN EVERY DAY
9AM - 9PM
 
 

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List: Bookseller recommendations from across the country

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.